Victoria sponge triumph!

It’s been a while since I posted and the plan has been to work my way through all the things I’ve made this year in order, but I feel the need to interrupt proceedings to celebrate my first ever successful Victoria sponge!

Look at the height of its layers!

I’m so chuffed. Normally when I make a sponge it’s average sized to say the least and I could never quite work out why it wasn’t as substantial as my Grandma used to make. I followed her recipe and instructions to the letter, but it always came out ever so slightly lacking in the size department.

Well, thanks to Mary Berry I’ve worked out what the problem was… I wasn’t making enough cake mix! My Grandma’s recipe calls for 6oz of marg, flour and sugar and 3 eggs which is fine, but I was using this with a 20cm cake tin so it was always coming out thinner than I remember my Grandma’s cakes. In Mary Berry’s Ultimate Cake Book, the queen of baking gives recipes for 15cm, 18cm and 20cm cake tins, so amazingly when I used the amounts for 20cm tins, it came out exactly right! I also used Mary’s all-in-one mixing method, so it was really quick and another tip is to use Stork margarine, which my Mum and Grandma have always sworn by. The only problem is, now I’ve struck it right with the recipe, I fear this may be the beginning of a Victoria sponge binge!

By the way, the filling is my Mum’s homemade blackberry jam which is the perfect accompaniment to the suitably-sized layers.

Here’s Mary’s 20cm all-in-one recipe:

sponge ingredients
8oz (225g) soft margarine (Stork is the Thomas family top tip!)
8oz (225g) caster sugar
8oz (225g) self-raising flour
4 eggs
2 tsps baking powder

filling and topping
About 4 tbsps jam, whatever flavour you like
A sprinkle of caster sugar

– Pre-heat oven to 180 degrees C, 350 F, Gas 4. Grease and line 2 x 20cm tins with greaseproof paper
– Measure all the cake ingredients into a large bowl and mix well with a hand blender
– Divide mixture between tins and level out
– Bake for 25 mins until well risen and tops of cakes spring back when lightly pressed (mine only took about 20 mins so keep your eye on them)
– Turn out onto wire rack to cool
– When completely cold sandwich the layers together with the jam and sprinkle the sugar over the top.

I recommend enjoying with a cup of tea while watching Mary Berry in all her glory as a judge on The Great British Bake Off, BBC2, 8pm, Tuesday nights.

2 thoughts on “Victoria sponge triumph!

  1. I wish! No, I just love it that much! I was chatting to Charli last night actually and saying they couldn’t have invented a better programme for me if they’d given me a questionnaire of all my favourite things and commissioned something to match. It was about pies this week… lush!

Leave a Reply

