Kat that got the cream

Last Autumn I bought some Rowan Pure Wool DK in a delicious mossy green colour (Shade 022 Emerald) on a rare trip out of Cornwall to a city with a John Lewis department store. I got a bit giddy with all the possibilities of yarns and colours and in the end bought just two balls of the Rowan yarn thinking I would quickly find a lovely pattern to use it for. But I just couldn’t find the right one until Ellen brought a fantastic pattern book to Knit Club a few weeks ago and I saw my dream hat.

The pattern is Kat by Kim Hargreaves from her Precious collection – a really classy set of patterns, beautifully styled and photographed. I could quite happily make every single thing in the collection and a browse around her website has just turned up numerous other books that’ll definitely be on my Christmas list.

The pattern was well written and easy to follow. As is usually the case with hats like this it looked all lumpy and bumpy before blocking and didn’t sit right on my head at all.

But after blocking it overnight over a dinner plate using the old faithful method I found last year, it looks fabulous.

The only bad thing is that I think it might’ve been me finishing the hat that brought an end to all the sunny weather we were having. I wasn’t wishing for it to be Autumn so I could wear it, I promise!

Leave a Reply

