The perfect pouffe

Ever since I stumbled across the Pickles blog a year or so ago, I’ve been wanting to make my own Puff Daddy – a fabulous, chunky knitted footstool stuffed with an old duvet! So when I moved into my new flat in March, I trawled the charity shops for a cheap second hand duvet and bought myself some scrumptious dark red big softie yarn (shade 0339). I couldn’t quite stretch to the 18 balls of yarn needed to make Puff Daddy, so I settled on Puff Daddy’s baby that called for a more manageable 9 balls. In the end the entire thing, including the duvet, ended up costing me about £30 which isn’t bad for such a delicious footstool.

I really enjoyed making it, especially the upper arm workout you get from using 15mm needles! It knitted up in no time and is now serving me very well as the perfect place to put my feet up for a night in front of the tele.

8 thoughts on “The perfect pouffe

  1. I am seriously in love with this! Was it a single or double duvet you used?

    I stumbled across your blog while looking for a tea cosy pattern, so much lovely stuff to look at 🙂

    • Thanks Aveen, I’ve had a quick squiz at your blog which has soooo much lovely stuff to look at. Must revisit when it’s not bedtime!

      I used a single duvet for my pouffe as it’s the smaller version – Puff Daddys’ baby rather than Puff Daddy which I think uses a double. I would say though that while the pouffe is lovely to look at and grand to put your feet up on, it doesn’t hold up to being sat on, so if you wanted to make it more sturdy, perhaps a double duvet rolled really tight would do the trick, or perhaps lots of pillows. Good luck!

  2. I’m trying to gather all my bits and pieces for knitting this pouffe! Can you tell me what wool you used? Is it DK or chunky? Thank you!

    • Hi Nicola, I used Sirdar Big Softie which is super chunky or sometimes called super bulky – the gauge is 9 stitches and 12 rows over 4 inches stocking stitch – and you hold 3 strands of it together. In hindsight though I probably wouldn’t recommend to use this particular wool as it’s gone really bobbly quite quickly so it doesn’t look as glorious as when I first knitted it! Then again it was a relatively cheap option so I suppose that’s the pay off. The pouffe is really quick to knit. Happy knitting!

  3. Thanks for the info Jayteetoo. Sorry yours has started to bobble 😦 I’ve bought some chunky wool, so hopefully that will work out. I see you used regular needles – would you recommend circular needles or the type you used? I’m so excited to get started!
    Nicola

    • The straight needles were fine and it wasn’t difficult to sew up the seam when I’d finished. The pattern calls for 15mm needles which are pretty giant so they didn’t have a circular version of them in my local knitting shop and I was too impatient to order them online! Post a picture of your pouffe when you’ve finished, I’d love to see how it turns out! Jo

Leave a Reply

