Jenny was an octopus…

…not a giant squid!

My friend Kieran has a song about an octopus called Jenny, so when it came to making him a Christmas/birthday present I thought it was the perfect opportunity to try my hand at a knitted cephalopod. Oh, and she has an anchor tattoo because in the song she’s in love with a bucaneer named Billy.

I adapted Jenny from this free Ollie the Octopus pattern from Lion Brand (you have to sign up as a member to view Lion Brand patterns, but it’s well worth doing as it’s free and there’re loads of good patterns). The main difference was that I put in less decrease rows at the beginning so Jenny has a slightly fatter head than Ollie because I wanted her to look less like a squid! I also made Jenny’s legs longer by putting more knit row repeats in.

Leave a Reply

