My first knitting project

Just before I moved to Falmouth in July 2008, I was lucky enough to meet the lovely Sarah in Nottingham who was also headed to sunny Cornwall. We met on the UCF forum for new MA students and it turned out we were both migrating south on the same day. Well a few G&Ts later we became firm friends and we’ve not stopped eating, drinking and guffawing since.

It was Sarah who had the idea to start up Knit Club, having been a member of a knitting group for young, trendy types in Nottingham. I of course agreed to attend the first meeting, at the lovely Babahogs art cafe, thinking I could always just busy myself with tea and cake while the real knitters got on with it. But it wasn’t long before I was knitting along with the rest and with Sarah’s expert tuition, and some distant memories of knitting scarves for teddy bears when I was about 7, I soon completed my first project! Click here to see me proudly modelling my scarf when I finished it at Knit Club.

It ended up being much too wide and much too long and really much too fluffy to wear, but it’s still the first thing I knitted, so I’m proud of it.

dsc_01291

Here’s how I made it:

Using chunky wool (I used 5 x 50g balls for mine but I could have managed with 4 if I’d made it narrower) and 10mm needles, cast on 32 stitches.

Row 1 & 2 – *K1, P1, repeat from * to end of row
Row 3 & 4 – *P1, K1, repeat from * to end of row

I think this is called irish moss stitch.

dsc_0130

Repeat rows 1 -4 until desired length and cast off. Finish off with tassles (here’s how to make them if you’re not sure)

One thought on “My first knitting project

  1. Pingback: We wish you a knitted Christmas « jo made this

Leave a Reply

